We Are Strong Together

3194317-silhouette-of-ten-young-women-walking-hand-in-hand
Recently, a very good friend of mine shared some words that really resonated with me and with my goals:

If one person falls, the other can reach out and help. But someone who falls alone is in real trouble…A person standing alone can be attacked and defeated, but two can stand back-to-back and conquer. Three are even better, for a triple-braided cord is not easily broken.

Is this not so true with all struggles? How much harder do we have to fight if we walk the journey alone? Instead, why not help and lift each other up! I find that in my own eating disorder recovery the more I do in devoting my time to others, the stronger I am. Eating disorders, like all mental disorders, come with such negative stigmas. They are embarrassing and frowned upon. We are “not supposed” to talk about them…they are taboo. However, if we keep our struggles, our triumphs, our recoveries to ourselves….what good will it do for that person sitting right next to us who may be experiencing the very same challenge?

I’d rather not have my years of battling ED go to waste by keeping my mouth closed. I choose to talk about the agonizing demon that I will never let win. I choose to try my hardest to help as many people as I can. Why not hold hands and walk together? We’re in this life together after all!

Please help me in my efforts. Together we can help someone struggling with ED achieve the relief of recovery. My goal is to raise $5,000 to assist in someone’s treatment. I’ll be walking 2,613 miles across the United States in an attempt to bring awareness to this lonely and lethal disorder…That’s less than $2 out of your pocket for every mile that I walk…I think that’s a pretty good deal!! 🙂

Thank you all for your support and encouragement…Let’s change the world together. Donate today: http://www.youcaring.com/raewalksacrossamerica.

About raelawrence

After struggling with an Eating Disorder for 10 years, I have found that part of my recovery is helping other people. Sharing my story of recovery in hopes of helping at least one person is so important to me. My goal is to reduce the stigma surrounding Eating Disorders and other mental health illnesses. When we feel shamed and embarrassed and feel we can't talk about what we're struggling with, it only leads to more sickness. Talk! Tell your story! Share your successes! Help the person next to you! Let's change the world together!

Leave a Reply

