Why I Walk

965260_368971383224658_545385507_o
Sometimes when people hear that I’m preparing to walk 2,613 miles across the country they look at me like I’ve lost my marbles. “Why would you do that?” is a question I’ve gotten more than once. Well, here’s how I answer:

Talking about my own eating disorder struggles is not the easiest thing. This subject is supposed to be “embarrasing”, “shameful” and we should hide it away. It causes some amount of anxiety and vulnerability to post for the world to see. However, I feel strongly that the challenges each of us have experienced and are conquering are wasted- our fighting for wholeness and recovery are wasted- if we can’t open our mouths, stretch out our arms to the next person and share our learned strenghths. We’ll never know that the friend, family member, co-worker standing right next to us is battling the same demon if we keep our mouth closed in shame of exposing ourself. If we can share our experiences with each other, we can help strengthen that universal human bond. We’re all in this life toghether…why not walk toghether? So here I go…walking.

I’m walking for all my sisters, my brothers who fight this lonely, ugly, lethal battle of ED. I’m walking to share my story. I’m walking to unite us all. I’m walking to hear YOUR story, your sister’s story, your brother’s story, your niece’s story, your dauther’s story. I’m walking to, I pray, lift just one person higher than they were yesterday.

This is why I walk.

Please help someone’s ability to obtain treatment and donate today: http://www.youcaring.com/other/rae-walks-across-america-for-eating-disorder-awareness/62318

About raelawrence

After struggling with an Eating Disorder for 10 years, I have found that part of my recovery is helping other people. Sharing my story of recovery in hopes of helping at least one person is so important to me. My goal is to reduce the stigma surrounding Eating Disorders and other mental health illnesses. When we feel shamed and embarrassed and feel we can't talk about what we're struggling with, it only leads to more sickness. Talk! Tell your story! Share your successes! Help the person next to you! Let's change the world together!

Leave a Reply

