My Support System

424179_523486824348857_1247180129_n
In the years of battling my own eating disorder gremlins, I was so lucky to have an amazing support system who never tired of me, never gave up on me…my family. During this time period when my mind was telling me lies about my body, and I was sucked into these distortions, my mom was my biggest cheerleader and champion. Though we had no easy access to formal treatment (inpatient, specialized therapy, day programs, etc), my mom helped me build an array of cognitive tools that would strengthen me in the fight against ED…tools that I still utilize today.

In my recovery my goal is to help others overcome this lonely and, often, lethal battle. Why should anyone have to walk this path alone? I’ve been incredibly blessed to have such a strong support system through my darkest times…something that probably prevented the destruction of my life. I want to share that support with others. I fiercely believe in reaching out a hand and walking together…let’s ALL walk together!

My hope is to raise $5,000 to help struggling individuals receive the treatment that may be the difference between life and death. I will walk 2,613 miles across this country just to raise less than $2 from YOU for every mile that I walk…Let’s change the world together! Together we are strong!
Please donate today: http://www.youcaring.com/raewalksacrossamerica.

About raesmith

After struggling with an Eating Disorder for 10 years, I have found that part of my recovery is helping other people. Sharing my story of recovery in hopes of helping at least one person is so important to me. My goal is to reduce the stigma surrounding Eating Disorders and other mental health illnesses. When we feel shamed and embarrassed and feel we can't talk about what we're struggling with, it only leads to more sickness. Talk! Tell your story! Share your successes! Help the person next to you! Let's change the world together!

One response to “My Support System”

  1. Matt Funk says :

    Hello Rae, My name is Matt Funk. I work for KNDU, a tv station in Kennewick. We’d like to talk to you about your walk. Could you please email me at matt.funk@nbcrightnow.com with the best phone number to reach you with if you’re interested? Thanks.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

