The Logistics

1045247_171242756383147_1732681728_n
I’ve had people ask lots of questions about my upcoming walk: What kind of gear am I using? Do I have a support vehicle riding along? Am I packing a gun? Am I seriously walking the entire way?? I figured I’d devote a blog with all the juicy details! :)

I AM walking (hiking actually) the entire 2,613 miles. I’ll be carrying a hiking pack which will act as my “house” for the next four months (just call me Turtle Rae). There will be no support vehicle in tow (wow, that would be the most boring job EVER!). Actually, I have been blessed with an incredibly knowledgeable Logistics Officer (my best friend :)) who is researching gear, routes, water stops, etc. and ensuring I come back in one piece…and with minimal pain along the way! He’ll be helping me, remotely, every step of this journey!

As for some of my gear: My Deuter Aircontact Light hiking pack has proven awesomely successful during the training process. It’s curves lay nicely along my spine and is made with special sweat wicking material to keep my back cool (which will be amazingly beneficial during the heat of the summer in the humid Eastern states). Salomon XR Mission trail running shoes have been the ultimate BOMB.COM! (hahaha…I didn’t just say that!) But seriously, my blister-free feet speak for themselves! Weighing in at 2lbs, 2oz the Big Agnes Fly Creek UL2 is going to be a great addition to my gear. Super lightweight and packing down incredibly small, this tent will by my home-away-from-home for the next several months!

Food! Don’t forget about the food questions! I’ll be packing around a camp stove to boil water, which I’ll be able to make up some super tasty (and lightweight to carry) dehydrated meals. Additionally, I’ll have high calorie protein bars in my pack and will be able to make stops at places like Subway and grocery stores when available.

Regarding the gun…there will be no gun in my pack. Knowing me I’d end up shooting myself in the foot, which would be totally less than productive. However, I am packing appropriate safety measurements to keep myself safe!

Would you like to know more? Don’t hesitate to ask! Also, don’t forget who this walk is really about: In the United States, 20 million women and 10 million men suffer from a clinically significant eating disorder at some time in their life, including anorexia nervosa, bulimia nervosa, binge eating disorder, or an eating disorder not otherwise specified (EDNOS) (Wade, Keski-Rahkonen, & Hudson, 2011) Treatment is incredibly expensive. I know from my own personal experience, that many people can not afford it and their disorder may go untreated. My goal is to raise $5,000 to help someone suffering from this agonizing battle and increase their chances for recovery.

Please donate today! http://www.youcaring.com/Raewalksacrossamerica

About raesmith

After struggling with an Eating Disorder for 10 years, I have found that part of my recovery is helping other people. Sharing my story of recovery in hopes of helping at least one person is so important to me. My goal is to reduce the stigma surrounding Eating Disorders and other mental health illnesses. When we feel shamed and embarrassed and feel we can't talk about what we're struggling with, it only leads to more sickness. Talk! Tell your story! Share your successes! Help the person next to you! Let's change the world together!

2 responses to “The Logistics”

  1. Clamishya Fyodorovich says :

    Unsolicited advice from a selfish seeker:

    - superfeet insoles… The benefit will come after 300 or so miles when your foot tendons aren’t screaming.

    - don’t hesitate to swap out your trail running shoes for road shoes….if you’ll be walking mostly on roads…once out there. Any oversized shoe + thin tightish socks will keep you from blistering as long as you let your feet dry out every 6 hours or so.

    - Leukotape!!

    - trekking poles. They’re dorky, but that might be therapeutic, and like the superfeet, will pay off by attenuating long distance pain and decreasing risk of injury.

    - 10k calories a day!? I hope the TCH reporter goofed. I’d go broke and get sick trying to do that (i know it didn’t say you were going to try and consume that much…. ). I like to start at 3,500 calories/day (for 20 mile days with 4k feet elevation change) for the first two weeks, and then ramp up to around 5k/day …but then I only cross a store once/week.

    - electrolyte pills. Succeed s-caps are popular. This isn’t cramp prevention; it’s death prevention. Zipfizz has lots of potassium if you like the energy drink thing.

    - butter powder (sold at many walmarts in the tricities…probably sue to the high lds population). One of my secret weapons.

    - be prepared to get FAT once you finish your quest. Sure you’ll be skinny and tight upon finishishing, but your appetite will be ravenous, and your food habits gluttonous, for months after. Your metabolism will crash and go into a strange semi-hibernative state following the safe completion of what it thought was some epic survival struggle. There will be no sane way of maintaining quest level calorie burn afterwards…just be ready for a little sinewave action on the weight front.

    Goodluck

    P.s. I’m leaving on my own solo, multi-month, long distance quest this month too, so the advice was genuine, despite it maybe coming across as dick.

  2. Celeste says :

    Best of luck to you, I will be following your blog. Celeste

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

